There are times when one gets into a rental car accident. Since the accident victim is not the owner of the vehicle, it’s imperative to get overwhelmed. If you are wondering what you should do after getting into a rental car accident, here are some steps to keep in mind.
Whether you have met with an accident in your vehicle or a rental car, it’s essential not to lose your claim.
After getting into a rental car accident,
- Switch off the car’s engine and turn on hazard lights.
- If possible, move the vehicle out of the traffic or get to a safe place.
- Ensure no one is hurt.
- Attend to your injuries.
- Inform the police and report the accident.
- Collect evidence of the accident, damages, and injuries.
- Exchange contact information and insurance details from other drivers involved in the accident.
- Note down everything you recollect about the accident and essential details.
- Note down the information of the police officers at the scene.
- Collect names and contact information of the witnesses.
Another essential thing to remember is not to admit fault for the incident. Before you speak to anyone, contact personal injury attorneys Virginia Beach and consult what you should do next.
When to inform the rental company or auto insurer?
It’s essential to contact the rental car company and your car insurance company immediately after getting into a car accident. The liability of the car wreck’s damages depends upon the insurance coverage purchased through the car rental company. Another factor taken into consideration while determining the fault is who caused the accident.
Is Insurance Required in Virginia?
In the state of Virginia, the insured car driver can pay the uninsured driver. Furthermore, the motorist will still be held accountable for the injuries and damages caused due to the car accident.
It’s illegal and punishable by the law to drive without insurance or not pay the uninsured fee in Virginia. The court can revoke the driving privileges of such drivers. Besides legal liabilities of the injuries and damages, the at-fault driver may have to pay penalties like a reinstatement fee of $145 and a $500 fee. The driver may be asked to file proof of insurance with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for the next three years.
What is the Fault System in Virginia?
In states where a no-fault insurance system is applicable, the drivers must file for a claim with their insurance company. This rule is applicable even if you are not at fault for the car accident.
In states with the fault-based insurance system, the victims can sue the at-fault driver and file a compensation claim. Since Virginia has a fault-based insurance system, you can sue the other driver for reckless or careless driving and ask for compensation for property loss, damages, injuries, and medical expenses. Auto-accident cases involving a rental car can be tricky, and thus, one must take help from a personal injury attorney Virginia Beach VA, to get the compensation.